Mills Record Company

New Release Round Up 9/21/18 at Mills Record Company

New Release Round Up 9/21/18 at Mills Record Company

New Releases 21 September 2018

Prince - Piano & A Microphone 1983

A previously unheard home studio cassette recording of Prince performing at his piano in 1983 will be released as Piano & A Microphone 1983 this week. The nine-track, 35-minute project from the Prince Estate in coordination with Warner Bros. Records is planned for what would have been the rock icon's 60th birthday. This rare, intimate glimpse finds Prince working through songs including "17 Days" and "Purple Rain" (which would both be released the following year), a cover of Joni Mitchell's "A Case of You," "Strange Relationship" (issued in 1987 on the Sign O' The Times album) and "International Lover," as well as a rare recording of the pre-Civil War spiritual "Mary Don't You Weep," which will be heard on the end credits of Spike Lee's upcoming film BlacKkKlansman, due out in August.


Nas returns this week with NASIR. The seven-track release for the New York rap artist was produced by Kanye West.


Joyce Manor - Million Dollars To Kill Me

Joyce Manor - Million Dollars To Kill MeJoyce Manor - Million Dollars To Kill MeJoyce Manor - Million Dollars To Kill Me - Epitaph

Joyce Manor are back with a new album, entitled Million Dollars To Kill Me. Frontman Barry Johnson along with co-founding guitarist Chase Knobbe, new drummer Pat Ware—(“Awesome new drummer,” adds Johnson)—and longtime bassist Matt Ebert, wrote enough songs to fill a full-length, and then worked to get songs lifted from emails between Johnson and one of his musical hero Impossibles’ guitarist/vocalist Rory Phillips, with whom he had been co-writing long distance, to match the ones written at full volume. (“Bedroom charm versus live rock band,” Johnson explains.) Their next step was a new step: their first time recording outside their L.A. hometown, at Converge’s Kurt Ballou’s GodCity studio in Salem, Massachusetts. They recorded daily 10-to-6 and then slept right upstairs in bunk beds: “Kinda felt like camp,” says Johnson. “It was a pleasure—I would recommend it to anyone.” If 2016’s Cody was about growing up, then Kill Me is about what happens next—the reckonings with love, money, doubt and confusion, and the hope that persists despite it all. 

Video Available


Death Grips - Year Of The Snitch

Year of the Snitch is the upcoming sixth studio album by experimental hip hop group Death Grips, set to be released on August 10, 2018 through Third Worlds and Harvest Records. We have the Indie Exclusive Clear Vinyl version in stock.

Metric - Art of Doubt

Toronto rockers Metric emphasize guitars on the band’s latest album, a collection of 12 new songs packed with massive riffs, driving rhythm and raw/smooth vocals that have become their instantly identifiable signature sound. Produced by Justin Meldal-Johnsen (M83, Beck, Nine Inch Nails), Metric’s seventh LP addresses a climate of cultural and political anxiety while refusing to give despair the upper hand. In many ways, it’s the most Metric album the band has ever made as Emily Haines, Jimmy Shaw, Joshua Winstead and Joules Scott-Key rediscover their shared love of music and how good they are at making it together. “This felt like the culmination of a lifetime spent playing together and trusting each other and going for it,” Shaw says.

Adam's House Cat - Town Burned Down

Before Drive-By Truckers, Mike Cooley and Patterson Hood formed Adam’s House Cat in the Muscles Shoals-area of Alabama in 1985. Their songs and friendship was the foundation on which DBT was built. This “lost” album recorded in 1990 has never before been released. It was remixed by Dave Barbe and mastered by Greg Calbi at Sterling Sound.

Christine & The Queens - Chris

The follow up to 2014's absolutely smashing debut "Chalear Humaine". Chris is a new pop anthem for the masses. It is an album about pop music as much as any of the other topics it addresses. Or rather, about a belief in pop music as something more than ephemeral – as a vehicle for ideas, a space in which you can transform yourself – in an era when pop is supposed to have lost its longstanding hold over its audience, when it’s not supposed to amount to much more than a pleasant soundtrack or minor distraction. Get it right, Chris implies, and it can still be powerful.

Pharrell - In My Mind

After producing and featuring on several songs by other artists, Pharrell Williams released his debut solo album 'In My Mind' in 2006. Featuring Kanye West, Gwen Stefani, Pusha T, Snoop Dogg, Nelly, and Slim Thug, 'In My Mind' is now available again on vinyl.

Billy F Gibbons - The Big Bad Blues
The Big Bad Blues, as the title suggests, focuses on Billy F Gibbons' lifelong love of the blues and rock & roll, showcasing the blues-influenced vocals and guitar licks that have together served as the foundation for his numerous hits over the past five decades. The album features 11 tracks balancing some classic covers like 'Rollin' and Tumblin,'' and 'Standing Around Crying' along with some of Billy's signature new blues originals.


William Fitzsimmons - Mission Bell

William Fitzsimmons - Mission BellWilliam Fitzsimmons - Mission BellWilliam Fitzsimmons - Mission Bell - Nettwerk Records
Singer/Songwriter and music producer William Fitzsimmons' album Mission Bell is a chronicling of the tumultuous last year of his life - particularly of the separation from his second wife. Sonically, Mission Bell is Fitzsimmons' first analog tape-centric album. The sounds are raw, real, and tangible. The familiar comforts of acoustic guitars are present but now joined generously by synthesizers, electric guitars, drum loops and violins. 

Video Available





Christine And The Queens - Chris
Joe Bonamassa - Redemption
Denzel Curry - Ta13oo
Macy Gray - Ruby
St Lucia - Hyperion
Mutual Benefit - Thunder Follows The Light
Deicide - Overtures Of Blasphemy
Marshall Tucker Band - Greatest Hits
Josh Groban - Bridges
Colin James - Miles To Go
Amy Helm - This Too Shall Light
Villagers - The Art Of Pretending To Swim
Mountain Man - Magic Ship
The Sha La Das - Love In The Wind

& More .....

Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band - You Can't Steal My Shine
Colter Wall - Thinkin' On A Woman
Within Temptation - The Reckoning
Brett Young - Here Tonight
Ron Gallo - Love Supreme (Work Together!)


For more information on these and other releases out this week, check out our New Releases charts by week section.

back to top